This Fine Log Has Been Sold, Thank You!
RARE NEGUS BROS.
SHIPS LOG Ca 1892 ORIGINAL CASE
|
A great piece of America's maritime heritage. |
Presented is a very rare and massive 19 th Century
ship's log made by T.S. & J. D. Negus, one of America's most famous names in nautical instruments. The log was originally
designed for large sailing vessels, but also was used on steam ships during WW I. Under its war time grey paint, this brass
log has a nickel protective coating over its bronze instrument housing and fittings. If desired, the paint can be removed,
and all the metal parts polished.
The instrument head has a white enamel face with Arabic numerals
and two counting dials which keep track of the nautical miles, and tenths traveled. The large spinner, or fish as they were
often called, was trailed behind the ship in its wake. The spinner rotated and that energy was transferred to the instrument
head and mechanically recorded. The instructions say, to rig it on the "lee" side. One picture shows a smaller fish which
is from a Thomas Walker Excelsior log to show the mammoth size of this one. The smaller rotor is not included.
CONDITION: Complete with all
deck fittings, a bag of small parts, no apparent mechanical faults and appears never to have been used. Missing is the towing
line. The dovetail knotty wood case is original with the exterior lable missing. but the interior maker's label is in excellent
condition. There is a black ink stain on the bottom. The exterior, at the bottom shows the stain along the edge, scuff marks,
and dirt elsewhere. Marked in chalk, on the top is "TaffRAIL Log". Included is a very large size rotor with weight that has
been polished and lacquered. It has the maker's trade mark imprinted. |
DIMENSIONS:
Drive wheel and instrument 11 1/2" L x 5 1/2" W
Instrument head 5" D x 2 1/2" D
Face 4"
Diameter Spinner/rotor 14" L x 4 1/2 D
CASE: 22 1/2" L x 8 3/4" W x 8 1/2"
H
Combined weight 22 lbs
Logs are highly collectable and those seen
are mainly of the ubiquitous Thomas English Walker variety. This one is a fine example of America's maritime past and represents
a much sought after piece of naval memorabilia. It is suitable for the most discerning collector. It is priced fairly.
|
Large instrument head with porcelain face | |
|
NEGUS HISTORY IN BRIEF: HISTORY:
Thomas Stewart and John D. Negus were highly respected nautical instrument makers and were arguably the leading makers in
the United States during the second half of the 19th century. Trained in England, the brothers began their manufactory in
New York City in 1848 ay 69 Pearl St. They moved to 100 Wall Street, New York City in 1864 and formed their navigational instrument
making firm, "T.S. & J.D. Negus," in 1869. According to research of period U.S. Navy records, T.S. & J.D. Negus sold
chronometers and other instruments to the U.S. Navy including compasses. It is a little known fact that the Negus brothers
bought the Ritchie Compass Company in 1937 and sixteen years later sold it to the Sherman Brothers in 1953. At that time Ritchie
moved to Pembroke, Mass. The firm continued under the trade name "Negus" as a nautical instrument manufacturer and retailer
well into the mid 1900'S.
International buyers welcome, but inquire
first. We have satisfied customers in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, Chile, China, Denmark, England, Finland,
France, Germany, Holland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Nova Scotia, Saudi Arabia, Scotland,
Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, USVI and the Eastern Caribbean.
Buy this magnificent
Negus Log Now! What a great attention getter to add a marine accent to your home, office or den. It also makes a perfect gift.
What a great conversation piece!
Copyright 2005 by Land And Sea Collection.Com, All
rights reserved
|
|
|